NY Rising Community Reconstruction Program


The Long Island Region includes 21 NY Rising Communities. Nassau County has 13 NY Rising Communities distributed over 2 towns, 10 villages and 1 city, while Suffolk County has 8 NY Rising Communities spread out over 3 towns and 4 villages. All but one of the Communities (Bayville) is located on the South Shore of Long Island. The New York Rising Community Reconstruction Program has been established to provide additional rebuilding and revitalization assistance to communities severely damaged by Hurricanes Sandy and Irene and Tropical Storm Lee.

As part of the New York Rising Community Reconstruction Program, there will be a public event focused on gathering community knowledge, experience, and recommendations that will be essential in the development of your community’s reconstruction plan.

These conceptual plans are snapshots of the current thoughts of the participating communities and planning committees. The plans will evolve as communities analyze the risk to their assets, their needs and opportunities, the potential costs and benefits of projects and actions, and their priorities. Implementation of the proposed projects and actions found in conceptual plans are subject to applicable federal, state, and local laws and regulations. Inclusion of a project or action in a conceptual plan does not guarantee that a particular project or action will be eligible for Community Development Block Grant – Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR) funding.

For more information visit: NY Rising Community Reconstruction program or on Facebook.